Parents and Doctors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parents and Doctors

Why are parents so put off by having to take their children to the doctor?

I have two children in my care who have wet coughs.

Child A has had the cough for 6 days now (including weekend). Cough sounds wet and chesty and is disrupting child's nap time here. When DCK's nose is blown, her chest rattles but nothing comes out. Told DCP that if cough is still present at the end of the week I will be requiring a doctor note before DCK returns. Dad says "well we took DCK to the doc about a week and a half ago and she was cleared for strep." Well, that's great. But she is still coughing. I am not a doctor and neither are you. Take your kid to the doc.

Child B: Noticed cough yesterday. Was worse today. Cough also sounds wet and chesty and is disrupting child's nap time here. Child has also been snoring the past few days during nap time. Mentioned cough to DCP at pick up. DCP says "oh yeah, I noticed that too. DCK seems to cough when waking up too." I mention that perhaps a doctor visit is in order and DCP says he can't take DCK tonight because "it's just him and the kids." (btw, at no point in time did I say go today or I will need a note tomorrow. I mentioned going to the doc because your child is presenting abnormal symptoms and neither myself nor the DCP's are doctors..)

Both parents said "well, maybe it's allergies..."

I live in the SW. It is warm and everything is already in bloom so it is possible that it's allergies. But guess what - they make allergy medicine for kids!! Take your child to a doctor, confirm that it is allergies and give them an allergy medicine. But don't let them just cough all day and night. How fair is that to the kids?