Courteous Communication with Parents

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Courteous Communication with Parents

I've been doing home daycare for three years now, and I've found that it's really helpful to me to have good, open communication with daycare parents. We end up affecting each other's lives quite a bit, and I feel like it's normal and courteous to communicate with people when you affect them.
    Just now I had parents cancel care on me with 1 1/2 hours notice. This family is normally the last ones here, but even worse today they were the only ones who were going to be here this afternoon. My contract doesn't say that I will charge a fee or anything like that for late cancellation, but I think that mom should have been more courteous with me, because it impacted me.
    I have found that it's stressful to deal with parents who aren't considerate of me, and I'm feeling like I need to have a new contract that covers this stuff or else we aren't a good fit. Or she might change. I am considerate of them in a number of ways. I allow pick up 20 minutes past close without any extra fees. I am not strict with my minimum fee per day (which is very lenient anyway). They are often here for less than three hours, but I just charge my normal hourly rate for them.
    I love the kids and the family is great in every way besides the fact that mom seems to have the "coat check" attitude about daycare sometimes.
    I just hate having to have "a talk" with mom. I've written an email about it...just thinking it over a bit and hoping to hear some thoughts from experienced providers.

I had a parent do this yesterday. Dcm called at 5 am when dcg was scheduled for 6 am saying she was taken off the schedule at work and wouldn't be bringing dcg after all. I realized I don't have anything in my policies about this, just that I have to be notified before their scheduled drop off time in order to not get charged for it.