Daycare Worker Running Out of Steam

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Daycare Worker Running Out of Steam

Hello I work at a daycare where I am a teacher in the 3-year-old room for about 3 to 4 hours a day. This is the closing room in our building so as the night goes on I get 2-year-olds in this room as well. They are very bored with the toys they have and I am running out of things to do with them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. There is myself and one other teacher in the room with about 16 kids usually so it is pretty hectic. Thank you for your help!

I'm not sure where you are, but I think two teachers to 16 kids is seriously out of ratio. Especially if the youngest is two, as the ratios are usually based on the age of the youngest child in the room...

It may be you are having a hard time specifically because the ratio is so far out of whack.

Comment

I agree 16 of that age group seems like a lot for two people if you are wanting to do activities with them. Kids that age are all over the place by nature. But I would try some circle time type activities.

Comment

Hello, I am in the midwest and the ratio for the three-year-olds at our center is 1 to 8. I was told by our director that the ratio doesn't change just because the two-year olds are in there. I certainly wish it was lower.
        Thriftylady could you be more specific? I am only 19 and don't really know many circle time activities as I have never been a permanent teacher in any room.
        Thank you for your help!

Comment

Originally posted by Lalala123 View Post
          Hello, I am in the midwest and the ratio for the three-year-olds at our center is 1 to 8. I was told by our director that the ratio doesn't change just because the two-year olds are in there. I certainly wish it was lower.
          Thriftylady could you be more specific? I am only 19 and don't really know many circle time activities as I have never been a permanent teacher in any room.