Aquariums...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aquariums...

So I am VERY new to keeping fish. We currently have a Betta in the daycare area in a bowl and goldfish upstairs in the non-daycare part of our home. Our goldfish will be moving up to a 20 gal tank in the near future, and I'm moving the Betta in the 10 gal tank that the goldfish will be vacating (and possibly adding a few fish compatible fish).

What I'm trying to figure out is where to put the tanks, I'd like to keep at least one downstairs for the kids.

Anyone else keep an aquarium in their daycare? What things should I be considering before I do this?

No tips but I would love to add a saltwater aquarium to our space. I would hire a local fish store to maintain it though. I think it is so nice to see signs of life (plants, flowers, fish) in the same space as the children so best of luck.

Comment

My husband and daughter love fish and have three aquariums between them. Two of them are in the daycare areas. The kiddos love it! My only big advice is to make sure all plugs and remotes for heating/filters/etc are way out of the reach of the little ones! More than once have I noticed that the timer or heat has been turned off after we've played downstairs. Buttons are way too tempting to little fingers.

Comment

I have two aquariums (30 gallons & 10 gallons)
        It takes time and money to keep it nice. DC kids don't show big interest.

Comment

Originally posted by ColorfulSunburst View Post
          I got rid of mine after a few months.

Comment

Originally posted by midaycare View Post
            I got rid of mine after a few months.
            i got rid of mine years ago... the babies kept hitting the glass with wood blocks... did not need scared fish much less broken glass; not happening

Comment

Originally posted by ColorfulSunburst View Post