Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I Require Epi-Pen?

Hi all,

Ive been an early childhood educator at private schools and this is my first year running my in-home center. I have a child starting next week who has an epi-pen. At the schools I worked at we required the parents to supply us with an extra epi-pen to keep on hand in case of an emergency. This epi-pen stayed in the main office or in the teachers emergency back-pack.

My question is....can i have the same policy here at my home daycare or is there anything that has worked for you all in the past? My fear is that the parents would forget it one day OR Id have to go digging in a diaper bag if their were an emergency instead of a known spot OR Id have to keep constant tabs when he arrives on if the epi pen is there and in site. I also think the parents might have a fit if I require it to stay here. :/

Open to any suggestions

Originally posted by LLLdle View Post
    Hi all,

Ive been an early childhood educator at private schools and this is my first year running my in-home center. I have a child starting next week who has an epi-pen. At the schools I worked at we required the parents to supply us with an extra epi-pen to keep on hand in case of an emergency. This epi-pen stayed in the main office or in the teachers emergency back-pack.

My question is....can i have the same policy here at my home daycare or is there anything that has worked for you all in the past? My fear is that the parents would forget it one day OR Id have to go digging in a diaper bag if their were an emergency instead of a known spot OR Id have to keep constant tabs when he arrives on if the epi pen is there and in site. I also think the parents might have a fit if I require it to stay here. :/

Open to any suggestions
    Absolutely! I would NOT allow the child to be in care at all without one. Way too risky and like you mentioned what if the parent forgot?

I would insist they leave one with you.