So Sad, What Am I Doing Wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So Sad, What Am I Doing Wrong?

I am just starting out after being closed for a few years. I live in the south part of town so getting interviews has been difficult. I have had 3 interviews now and the one last night made me feel so awful, I cried on my way to my childcare class.

I am in a different home than I started. I have an older home. I don't have a lot of money. I do the best I can to make it look nice. I didn't want to have my whole living room turned into centers and such. I wanted a "home" environment. I have a cute book case, push toys and a long narrow shelf that I have clear bins with toys in it. I explain to parents that I rotate toys....because I have a ton of toys.

Last time I started my daycare I charged 20 less than average to attract customers. But I feel like I am qualified to charge an average rate. I am a nurse, I have background with children. I love children. I have a large backyard.

Anyways I'm just sick of the bad interviews. I feel like they stick their noses up at me and nit pick my environment. It makes me so uncomfortable. I am trying not to take it so personally because I understand they are looking for the best.

I love kids, I want some to start in my care so I can just love on them'! But I'm getting so discouraged...I don't have money to make my environment look like a lot of you who post pics.

Any advice...I'm feeling defeated.

The daycares that I have brought my kids to were not set up like centers...they were home environment's and I liked it...:confused:

I have 2 interviews for tomorrow. I have only been bringing parents to the upstairs living room, where I would like to do childcare and rotate toys from the basement.
    The only thing I can think of the change is...should I organize downstairs in "centers".