Mixed Age Care

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mixed Age Care

Hi All! I'm new to the family day care business and was wondering how you guys handle mixed age care. I care for children from 3 months-6 yrs old and I have a few questions in mind.

1) I was wondering at what age should the children be before we try to get them on the same schedule as the older kids. I was thinking 1 1/2 years old? Infants obviously are one their own timeline but it would be a lot better if we can have the 1 year olds participate in the same activities as the older kids.

2) How do you bring them out on a stroll/park/field trips? Right now my sister and I are only caring for 3 kids (a 5 month, a 1 yr old and a 2 yr old) and we put them in a stroller (a single for the infant and a double for the 2 older kids). We figured this is not going to work when we accept more kids into our program. Pushing a double stroller up a hill is no joke haha. What do you do? I know some providers use ropes for the kids to hold on to but how do you get them to do that and at what age are you confident to let them walk with you?

3) I'm stressed out when we bring them to the park. I care for the 1 year old while my sister cares for the infant. The toddler is allowed to play on his own but I have to constantly keep an eye on him because he might run out of the park. I mean we are almost 1:1 and I'm uncomfortable with watching a active 2 yr old play on his own. How do you do it when there are more kids?

The last two questions has to do with our daily outings, and it is not something we can compromise because they need the space to run around and be active as our house is not able to provide that.

Any other tips for a newbie as a child care provider would be greatly appreciated as well.

Welcome to the business:hug:

I can tell you how I do things, but most depends on your space, settings, your tolerance, your ways and expectations and so on..