Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

18 Month Old Cries Constantly - Cannot Be Comforted. HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 18 Month Old Cries Constantly - Cannot Be Comforted. HELP!

I am the assistant director of a home daycare. I have been working here for five years and have had experiences with wonderful, happy children who are easy to work with and moody, hyperactive children who are difficult to work with. Three weeks ago we enrolled a new child who is 18 months old and comes to daycare one day a week. I have come to dread that day.

This child cries as soon as he sees the daycare and DOES NOT STOP. Trying to hold/comfort him makes him scream louder and he will hit and kick anything he can reach. He won't eat or drink anything, play with any toy, watch a movie, look at a book, or play outside and he is not distracted by the turtles or rabbit we keep as class pets. Ignoring his crying also has no effect. He cries until he falls asleep, which sometimes takes hours because he is not always tired - only miserable.

We asked his parents if they knew of anything he likes that could help us to calm him down. Both of them told us, "He likes to play." I feel like I have tried absolutely everything. If anyone can help me out here with some ideas, I would be really appreciative.

Is it his first daycare? If not how was he at the previous daycare?

Comment

I took a drop in family member of one of my families once and he too screamed the entire week and a half he was here. From the day he arrived until the time he left. He didn't eat, didn't play, hardly napped, and otherwise just screamed non stop.

Mom told me he was completely fine at home. Mom of my enrolled family however said he had been cared for by grandma since birth and was literally NEVER put down. Was fed while bring held, slept while being held, always played IN grandma's lap....his whole world revolved around grandma's lap.